The Dangerous Kind – Blog Tour

Deborah O Connor Blogtour FINAL

 

Perfect for fans of Anatomy of A Scandal and Belinda Bauer, The Dangerous Kind is a dark and gripping thriller that asks us all: how well do you really know the people you trust?

One in 100 of us is a ‘potentially dangerous person’ – someone likely to commit a violent crime. We all know them: these charmers, liars and manipulators. The ones who go one step too far. And then take another step.

These people hide in plain sight. They can be teachers, doctors, holding positions of trust, of power.

Jessamine Gooch makes a living tracking the 1 in 100. Each week she broadcasts a radio show that examines brutal offences, asking if more could have been done to identify and prevent their perpetrators.

But when she agrees to investigate a missing person case involving a young mother, she is drawn into a web of danger that will ultimately lead to the upper echelons of power, and threaten the safety of her own family.

What if the people we trust are the ones we should fear?

If I were to tell you that I was excited to receive The Dangerous Kind, it’d seriously be one of the hugest understatements of my life. I absolutely love a dark and compelling read and this novel was every bit as gripping as I had imagined and absolutely lived up to my level of anticipation. Deborah O’Connor has an innate ability for grabbing you and pulling you right into her story and I literally barely looked up until I’d turned the final page.

I’m a real true-crime fan and this definitely filled the gap that Serial, Broken Harts and Dirty John have left in my life. The fabulously-named Jessamine Gooch is such a fantastic character that you really feel comes alive as you uncover more and more details about the way that her story intersects with Rowena and Jitesh and the way that our past can affect the way our mind develops – for good or for bad…

In the same way that I felt a strong connection with Adnan after reading Serial, I really felt like I’d come to know Jessamine by the final page and although I’m firmly committed to my ‘No Spoilers’ rule, I can’t wait to have a good chat with someone else who’s read The Dangerous Kind so that we can mull over it together and talk about what a fantastic creation it is. I keep wearing the badges to see if anyone recognises them and hopefully my book club will love it as much as I have when we discuss it later in the summer…

fear-trust-image

 

The fact that it has the Rosarch ink blot on the front cover, that everyone sees differently and reflects the inner workings of the mind was really intriguing for me and reflected the way that each of the characters in this novel stood out as individuals who have all been shaped and moulded by their experiences and the ways that this affects them in later life is not always predictable.  I really can’t emphasise how much I loved this dark and delicious read and found the psychological element very well developed and thought-provoking.

Jessamine Gooch is a fantastic character – even though on a conscious level I know that she is a device to stitch all of the other characters’ perspectives together I absolutely love the way that her show managed to delve into the past and throw light on some pretty dark corners. I am a huge fan of podcasts in general and particularly true crime and murder podcasts. The Dangerous Kind felt absolutely real in the way it revealed these ‘crimes’  – it really is so evocative and skillfully realised.

I also liked the way that like the very best True Crime podcasts – Deborah O’Connor allows space for our own feelings and responses. These characters actions and responses actions are not tied up in a neat little package for us – as real life just doesn’t work like that. There is enough room for us to ask ourselves questions about who we believe and why that makes this novel such an ultimately rewarding experience.  I found myself genuinely being convinced to see things from a constantly shifting perspective as the novel bore me towards the conclusion and this was a rollercoaster ride that I definitely didn’t want to get off…1 in100

This book has a little bit of everything – psychological intrigue, social commentary, a ‘true crime’ feel, a fresh and interesting narrative structure, credible characters and a real sense of menace. As you can probably tell, I loved this book and felt like sleeping with the light on for about four days after reading it.

It is a book that you’ll want to pass on to other people so that they’ll have had the same experience you did, reading it for the first time. If you want to treat yourself and find out what all the fuss is about, buy yourself a copy right here

I’d like to thank Tracy Fenton for inviting me to take part in the blog tour, it was such a privilege to spread the book love for a book that I loved reading so much. I bloody love this book and cannot recommend it enough. Get out there and experience it for yourself as soon as you can!

And don’t just take my word for it – check out what these other writers are saying about The Dangerous Kind:

 

Searingly relevant, at times uncomfortably truthful, a page turner and an empathetic look at fractured modern lives’ Gillian McAllister

Darkuncompromising but full of heart. It gave me goosebumps and I raced through it in a matter of days. Highly recommended‘ Holly Seddon

‘It’s tense right from the first pitch black scene to the last page. Very cleverly employs our obsession with true crime’ Amy Lloyd

Great concept, silky prose & originality oozing off every page’ Eva Dolan

‘Absolutely brilliant . . . a really sophisticated, smartengaging thriller’ Jo Spain

 

 

 

 

hb-template

Writer On The Shelf

 

Deborah O'Connor

Deborah O’Connor is a writer and TV producer. Born and bred in the North-East of England, in 2010 she completed the Faber Academy novel writing course. S

he lives in London with her husband and daughter.

You can follow her on twitter @deboc77.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s