THUNDER GIRLS BLOG TOUR

Thunder Girls final banner

Chrissie, Roxanne, Carly and Anita, an eighties pop sensation outselling and out-classing their competition. Until it all comes to an abrupt end and three of their careers are over, and so is their friendship.

Thirty years later, their old record label wants the band back together for a huge money-making concert. But the wounds are deep and some need this gig more than others.

In those decades apart life was far from the dream they were living as members of The Thunder Girls. Breakdowns, bankruptcy, addiction and divorce have been a constant part of their lives. They’ve been to hell and back, and some are still there.

Can the past be laid to rest for a price, or is there more to this reunion than any of them could possibly know? Whilst they all hunger for a taste of success a second time around, someone is plotting their downfall in the deadliest way possible . .

The Thunder Girls, Melanie Blake, Jackie Collins

If you love a novel you can really get caught up in that will make you think about its characters long after you’ve finished reading it, then The Thunder Girls might be your next favourite read. I’m always a sucker for any book that’s got the slightest connection to the 80’s and I was really drawn in by the story of this book and what a word-of-mouth sensation it’s become.  I love books that transport me in time and place and I read this across a sunny Scottish weekend – totally losing myself in the glamour, nostalgia and excess of this fantastic pageturner of a read.

The Thunder Girls’ deft contrast between ‘now’ and ‘then’  is a clever device that allows you to draw parallels and see the differences between their relationships across time and miles as the stories of Chrissie, Roxanne Carly & Anita unfold, drawing you into the drama and tangled relationships of both stages in their lives and allowing you to get caught up in both. This narrative device was very more-ish and several nights kept me up much later than I’d intended with a real sense of ‘just one more chapter’. It made me remember all those nights staying up too late to read the latest Judith Kranz or Danielle Steele as a teenager – or being able to binge on hours of Alexis Carrington versus Krystle and all those EPIC frocks…

The Thunder Girls, Melanie Blake, Jackie Collins

The word blockbuster doesn’t get bandied around very often these days but this is a wholly deserved compliment, it’s blend of a gripping and exciting plot and skilful characterisation combine to draw you into a story bursting with drama and the combination of nostalgia and reality are used to strong effect. Melanie Blake has a deft and distinct turn of phrase and recreates this era so very skilfully in order to make the 80’s come back come to life in these pages. This is a decadent  and satisfying read, where you never want it to end. I was so excited to hear that there was a play and am already thinking about how I can possibly get to see it after the lockdown is over.

I enjoyed the authentic 80’s atmosphere and the addictive sense that you are part of the drama as we follow events to their explosive conclusion. It’s hard to write about The Thunder Girls with no spoilers, but I’ve tried really hard as this is a book that you really need to experience for yourself. There have been lots of comparisons to legends like Jilly Cooper, Shirley Conran & Jackie Collins and it’s easy to see why – there is that same glamorous and fast-paced quality that really makes you effortlessly fall under this novel’s spell. It’s the perfect antidote to current times and I’m telling all my friends what a tonic it has been.

The Thunder Girls, Melanie Blake, Jackie Collins

If you want a hugely enjoyable and addictive read that both plunges you into the drama and asks you to think for yourself and trusts you to come to your own conclusions about subjects such as friendship, loyalty and revenge,  you’ll love this book and I know a few book-loving friends who are definitely going to be pinching it from me once we are out of this lockdown. I’d like to thank Midas PR for inviting me to take part in the Blog Tour, Buy yourself a copy and grab yourself some of the 80s nostalgia for yourself

Jackie Collins for a new generation. The Thunder Girls is a blockbuster novel, filled with obsession, addiction, betrayal and revenge, that charts the rise and fall of an 80s girl band from Melanie Blake, a true insider of the music business.

Perfect for fans of Tasmina Perry and Daisy Jones and The SixSoon to be a nationwide play with an all star cast.

Writer On The Shelf

At fifteen years old Melanie Blake was told by her high school career advisers that her decision to do work experience at a local record shop was an ‘embarrassment and a clear example that she wouldn’t go far in life or her career’. They were wrong. By twenty-one she was working at the BBC’s iconic Top of the Pops show and by twenty-seven she had built a reputation as one of the UK’s leading music and entertainment managers, with her own agency and a roster of award-winning artists who had sold more than 100 million records.

After a decade at the top, Melanie decided to manage a smaller client list and concentrate on her other passion, writing – first as a columnist for a national newspaper, then as a playwright and now as a novelist. They say write about what you know, and having lived and breathed every aspect of the music and entertainment industry, in The Thunder Girls she certainly has.

Twitter @MelanieBlakeUK  

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s