In Plain Sight

In Plain Sight TW (2)A child’s life is at stake. Which of the residents of St Andrews is hiding something – and why?

When a baby girl is snatched from the crowd of spectators at a fun run, the local police have a major investigation on their hands. DI Clare Mackay and her team are in a race against the clock when they learn that the child has a potentially fatal medical condition.

As Clare investigates she realises this victim wasn’t selected at random. Someone knows who took the baby girl, and why. But will they reveal their secrets before it’s too late?

The second instalment from an exciting new Scottish detective series. Perfect for fans of Alex Gray, Rachel Amphlett and D. K. Hood.

As a real fan of a Scottish read, I was intrigued by the premise of this book featuring the town of St Andrews that I lived and studied in for four years. I was delighted to be invited on the tour by the Tracey Fenton and couldn’t wait to virtually travel back to Fife and immerse myself in the town whilst trying to solve the mystery with D I Clare Mackay.

brown rock formation on sea under white clouds and blue sky during daytime

This book definitely did not disappoint, it grabbed me and pulled me right into the story. I was really intrigued by the premise of the book: that this will be a race against the clock where we definitely are not hearing the full story and this really added to the suspense for me. Clare’s own circumstances have had a massive impact on the way that she perceives events and her coping mechanisms start to unravel as the novel unfolds.

Scotland, St Andrews, Monument, Gateway

Even though In Plain Sight deals with a familiar situation – like a child’s disappearance, it does it in an original way which makes the story linger at the edges of our consciousness even when we aren’t reading it. The characters all feel very much like real people – rather than mechanisms to explore an issue – which I’ve often found in novels which want to look at the way we respond to trauma or tragedy. Clare is a fully-formed character whose warmth and humane approach ensure that we are rooting for her, even if her superiors aren’t…

St Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom, Tourism

Marion Todd is a writer to watch and I’ve really enjoyed both of her Clare Mackay stories – it’s hard to talk about this novel without spoilers, so I’ll just need to tell you that you must read it for yourself. You will be caught up in this story and want to know exactly what’s being withheld from us and why as Clare tries to solve this disappearance with nothing but obstruction and misdirection from the people who should be trying to help her. It’s not one of these ‘keep looking for the big twist’ stories that people are getting a little bored of now, but a sustained and plausible tale that will draw you in and engage you emotionally as you root for Clare and her team to find out the truth even though it feels like everything is stacked against them at times.

Road, Rain, Wet, Scotland, Mirroring, Away, Raining

 

In Plain Sight is a book that I know I’ll be recommending to lots of readers as I was totally immersed in its characters, its pace and the way it drew me in and engaged my emotions as well as increasing my heart rate. I can’t wait to see what Clare Mackay does next. The idea that life in rural Fife can be a lot darker than you might think on the surface is a very intriguing one – it’s clearly a rich mine of intrigue, drama and deception.

It’s made me desperate for the lockdown restrictions to be lifted so that I can travel back to my old stamping ground, walk along the beach and think about what Clare and her team will come up against in the future. I’m looking forward to the publication of her third book Lies To Tell and recommend you preorder it here

Buy yourself a copy here and definitely go back and treat yourself to See Them Run too

Scotland, St Andrews, Cathedral, Substantiate, Ruin

 

‘In Plain Sight, second in the DI Clare Mackay series, echoes the themes of See Them Run, Marion Todd’s debut crime novel: vivid sense of place, strong female lead, authentic police procedure. The protagonists’s love interest whets the appetite for more. I look forward to Book 3 in the series.’ Claire MacLeary, author of Cross Purpose

‘This is becoming one of my favorite police procedural series.’ Reader review

‘A truly gripping and thoroughly entertaining read. I’m already looking forward to the next in the series….

Writer On The Shelf

84F3B711-F3AF-491B-9039-AA69734B1AE3

A native of Dundee, Marion studied music and worked for many years as a piano teacher and jobbing accompanist. A spell as a hotel lounge pianist provided rich fodder for her writing and she began experimenting with a variety of genres. Early success saw her winning first prize in the Family Circle Magazine Short Story for Children national competition and she followed this up by writing short stories and articles for her local newspaper.

Marion has also worked as a college lecturer, plantswoman and candle-maker and now is a full-time writer, penning the DI Clare Mackay series of crime fiction novels set in St Andrews.

Marion lives now in North East Fife, overlooking the magnificent River Tay. When she’s not writing she can be found tussling with her jungle-like garden and walking her daughter’s unruly but lovable dog.

Marion is represented by Northbank Talent Management and her crime novels are published by Canelo.

Stay up to date with upcoming releases from Canelo by signing up to receive a newsletter on their website and by following them on these social media accounts.

Thank-you to Tracy Fenton from Compulsive Readers for my spot on the In Plain Sight Blog Tour.

Website |  Twitter  |  Instagram  |

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s