All Adults Here

Astrid Strick has always tried to do her best for her three children. Now, they’re finally grown up – but you could be forgiven for thinking otherwise.

Elliott doesn’t have any idea who he really is, or how to communicate with his own sons. Porter is, at last, pregnant – but feels incapable of rising to the challenge. Nicky has fled to distant New Mexico, where he’s living the bohemian dream.

And Astrid herself is up to things that would make her children’s hair curl.

Until now, the family have managed to hide their true selves from each other. But when Nicky’s incorrigibly curious daughter Cecelia comes to stay, her arrival threatens to upturn everything . . .

Witty, astute, and irresistibly readable, All Adults Here is a novel about how to survive inside a modern family from New York Timesbestselling author Emma Straub.

In All Adults Here, Emma Straub shows her extraordinary gift for illuminating the small and striking details which make us all human. She is one of those writers who makes you laugh whilst reminding you that being alive is full of pain, struggle, joy and regret in glorious technicolour.

Am so happy to be on today’s Blog Tour of #AllAdultsHere today and it’s an actual tour today because I’m posting this from gorgeous Northumberland this afternoon. It’s wonderful to be curled up with a great book after a windy walk. The wood burning stove is lit and I’m going to be sampling one of the local gins as soon as the sun goes over the yard’arm.

Related image

I absolutely loved this book. It’s a warm and uplifting read that will genuinely draw you into its narrative and make you feel part of Astrid’s eclectic and memorable world as she tries to navigate family life in all its vivid complexity as she thinks about her own past and how her family have evolved and

Astrid is a fantastic character that you can totally believe in. When I was reading about her granddaughter’s arrival and the chain of events that ensues, I forgot that was reading about a set of fictional characters and became totally involved in this diverse and entangled family’s story. I’m sure lots of you will have had that feeling when you stop feeling like these are characters on a page and start reflecting on their conversations and life choices like they are actual people that you’ve met. The rest of her family are introduced by degree and I guarantee you will be creasing up, hearing about some of the situations she finds herself caught up in and the amount of things going on beneath the surface that they are all oblivious to.

people standing on shore during golden hour

Even if you haven’t encountered her other fictional work, I think there will be lots of readers converted into Emma Straub fans after finishing this book – and you should definitely seek out her other books if you haven’t already enjoyed them. There were loads of moments in Astrid’s frustration and exasperation that I really connected with – her odd reflections and off-the-cuff comments are totally unique and I found her absolutely hilarious. Her attempt to understand her often-frustrating and diverse family is beautifully written and I definitely found it laugh-out-loud funny as there are plenty of awkward and memorable moments as she tries to fathom exactly why they’ve turned out like this and whether it’s nature or nurture that can be blamed…

Emma Straub wrote this book from the heart, and it shows.  It presents a picture of a unique, hilarious and memorable family with a legendary matriarch and captures the chaos, frustrations and complexities of modern family life perfectly I would absolutely love to see this book on our screens in the future. When you read the reviews below, you’ll see that there are so many fans of her writing that are far more eminent than myself – so you don’t just have to take MY word for it…

Buy yourself a copy here and enjoy meeting Astrid and her collection of weird and wonderful relatives for yourself.

‘Smartly observant, wryly witty, big-hearted . . . Fans of Ann Patchett, Anne Tyler and Lily King should seek [Straub] out’ The Sunday Times

‘This beautifully written book delves deeply, perceptively and humorously into the contemporary human condition’The Daily Mail

‘A glorious mash-up of Elizabeth Strout and Gilmore Girls’Red

‘If you’re a fan of Anne Tyler’s writing, you’ll love this captivating well-observed family drama’Good Housekeeping

All Adults Here

Writer On The Shelf

Emma Straub

Emma Straub is the New York Times bestselling author of three other novels, The Vacationers, Modern Lovers, and Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures, and the short story collection Other People We Married. 

Her books have been published in twenty countries. She and her husband own Books Are Magic, an independent bookstore in Brooklyn, New York.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s