The Last Act of Adam Campbell

A YEAR CAN GO QUICKLY.

PARTICULARLY WHEN IT’S YOUR LAST.

Adam had it all: a great job, a gorgeous house and a loving family. Then he cheated on his partner. Then she kicked him out. And then he was given twelve months to live.

Despite the devastating news, Adam is determined to turn his life around before it finally runs out. Help comes in the form of an ex-junky, a cantankerous train driver, a nun experiencing a crisis of faith, and a teenager intent on losing her virginity – all living on borrowed time, all deserate to feel alive before their time is up.

It’s such a privilege this sunny spring evening, to be one of the bloggers on the blog tour of one of the best books I’ve read this year so far– and that is no mean feat, as 2021 is already shaping up to be an amazing year for books.  The Last Act of Adam Campbell is a book that you’ll be seeing everywhere this Summer and if you’ve not got your Spring/Summer TBR scheduled already, you should definitely make a space for this thought provoking, touching and unforgettable read.

The fact that this book is so wonderfully structured with such clever juxtapositions and thought provoking contrasts means that it is hard to write a review without any spoilers. I really want you to have the same amazing reading experience that I had – so I am committed to not giving anything away that will have an impact on that. Suffice to say that I adored this book – Andy Jones’ writing allows you to fully immerse yourself in Adam’s world and experience the highs nd lows right there alogside him. It’s one of those books that you find yourself thinking about whenever you’re not reading it and imagining what the characters are doing, just as if they are real people that you know…

Andy Jones, The Last Act of Adam Campbell, Four, The Bucket List, Philomena, Cathy Bramley, book

I really lost myself in the story of Harriet whose unravelling life was so well described that I felt that he was someone I knew after I’d finished reading his story. I felt like I could really transport myself into his world and imagine the impact of these experiences myself. The book deals so sensitively with the impact of trauma and palliative care – yet is sometimes so absolutely hilarious that I just couldn’t get enough of it. I really feel that this is one of the main misconceptions about books that deal with ‘big’ subjects – that they have to be deadly serious throughout. This is a writer who is not afaid to tackle difficult subjects with compassion, sensitivity and a open mind – but isn’t averse to cracking you up with some of the side spilttig moments that are experienced in this novel. It really is unique in that way and I feel the blend of seriousness and humour really helps the readers to gain a much better understanding about the way some of these issues affect the lives of thousands of ordinary people off the page too

uplifting, life-affirming, Rachel Joyce, Veronica Henry, Lucy Diamond, The Man Who Didn't Call,

I feel that books about dying are perhaps one of the most underrepresented in modern literature and Adam’s story goes a long way towards dispelling some of the misconceptions and allows us to see that this situation might be a lot more complex than the stereotypical idea about someone who receives a diagnosis like this…

Adam is a fabulous character, he definitely felt very real to me as he goes through all of these experiences – from self help books to drama with a twist, through virginity, nuns and everything in between – this was an eclectic, thought provoking and hugely memorable read. Andy Jones’ writing gives us a gradual insight into the back stories of this diverse group of characters and a slow reveal about how and why their current situation has evolved – allowing a real empathy to develop between the characters and the readers. You’ll never have met a cast like this before , and you certainly won’t be able to forget them in a hurry…

The Fault in our Stars, John Green, Contemporary, book club, funny book, Nicola Yoon, reading group

Andy Jones has created characters we can really connect with, experiencing emotional dilemmas that have us rooting for them. Adam himself is such a fabulous creation and we definitely feel for him as he experiences the full gamut of emotions that such a diagnosis brings with it. It is a real joy to get to know him as the book develops which makes the way that the plot unfolds all the more compelling. I read this book in a single day over last weekend and I’m so glad that I actually got the time to unwind and lose myself in this emotionally rewarding and thought-provoking read. It  is a moving and emotional story and I’d love to see it on the slver screen I am so grateful to the lovely Jenny Platt for inviting me on the tour, it’s been an absolute pleasure and I can’t stop recommending this book to EVERYONE.

Buy yourself a copy right now and experience Adam’s story for yourself. And you don’t just have to take my word for it – look at all the praise this wonderful read has attracted already

‘I’m broken!! Completely and utterly broken!! Andy Jones what have you done to me?! The Last Act of Adam Campbell is a wonderful book and I loved every single page . . . I haven’t been able to stop thinking about since I finished it and so it’s one I know will be hard to beat when it comes to my favourite books of the year list at the end of 2020 . . . Very highly recommended by me!

This book should come with a warning, a packet of tissues plus tea and chocolates to help you recover from the end of it . . . The Last Act of Adam Campbell’ is a life affirming and tender story that highlights the fragility of life and the importance of making every second count.

You will need a lot of tissues, as it is funny, sad and touching and really shows the strength of human spirit and how even when everything seems hopeless you can find hope as the group all do in The Rude Mechanicals. A great but heart-wrenching read.

One of the most uplifting books I have read in a long time . . . We have a tendency to worry and fret about stupid things in this life that really don’t matter. If nothing else, this book has given me the chance to change my priorities and focus more on the things that really matter. And for that, I wholeheartedly thank the author.

Wow if this book doesn’t make you cry then I’m pretty sure nothing will . . . This book is sad and brutally honest but also filled with love and fun and a story of friendship that changes every single one of their lives for the better. The ending is heartbreaking but beautiful.

Despite being an emotional mess at times, I cannot express how glad I am that I have read this book. I found it very cathartic and it made me feel very positive.

This beautifully written and heart-warming book is perfect for fans of Nick Hornby and David Nicholls., BooksLifeEverything.blogspot.co.uk

This is an incredible novel and – if you’re not scared to have your heart broken a little (or a lot) – you definitely shouldn’t miss itBookAfterBook.blogspot.com

Oh my, what a beautiful, moving book it is! Full of poignant moments to bring a lump to your throat, it’s a story not only about death, but about life, love and everything in between. It’s about grabbing hold of life with both hands, no matter how long or short that life may be . . . As difficult as some parts of this book was to read, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it. As long as you go in prepared to have your heart broken, aware that it deals with the devastation that death and loss brings, I would say read and experience the beauty of this book for yourself. I know this is a story and characters that will stay with me for a long time to come.Andy Joneshas written a moving, poignant and memorable book to be proud of., CalTurnerReviews.wordpress.com

Writer On The Shelf

Andy Jones

In one form or another, Andy has always been a writer. At school, he passed notes in class and scribbled rude words on lamp posts. At university he wrote a PhD in biochemistry and forged tickets to various balls, and as an advertising copywriter, he has written adverts for everything from baby food to booxe. But it wasn’t until he was well into his thirties that Andy started writing fiction. If he could write a letter to his younger self, it would urge him to stop messing about and get on with it. Andy lives in London with his wife and two little girls. Chances are he’s writing something.

This is a blog tour celebrating the publication of this contemporary read, which is published this Thursday (29th April). Lots of people are talking about this book so do check out what they are saying, and thank you as always for taking the time to read and share this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s